RoboCup 2022

Welcome to the Standard Platform League (SPL) at RoboCup 2022.

Main Competition (5 vs. 5)

Tournament Mode

For the main competition we are going to organize the games using a Swiss tournament system with five rounds, followed by a knock-out stage as played at GORE 2022. 13 teams are participating in the main competition.

The rules in short:

  1. During the tournament, a ranking of teams is maintained. In all rounds, the 1st ranked team gets a wildcard (if it already got a wildcard, the next team without one will get it) and all other teams play from top to bottom against their successor in the ranking. Match repetitions are avoided by choosing the next successor until an unplayed match is found. If this is not possible because all lower ranked teams have already been played, previous match assignments (of the same round) are backtracked until a valid assignment is found.
  2. Winners earn 2 points, ties/wildcards earn 1 point, losers earn 0 points. The sum of points a team earned in its games is the primary ranking criterion.
  3. The next rounds ranking will be determined as follows:
    a. First round: Glicko rating
    b. Second round: 1st: By number of points, highest number first, in case of ties: 2nd criterion is inital Glicko ranking
    c. From 3rd round on: All teams are ranked by 1st: By number of points, 2nd by the Buchholz number (BHN), 3rd by the Fine Buchholz number (fBHN), 4th by direct comparison, 5th by initial Glicko rating. The Buchholz number of a team is the sum of the current points of all opponents it has played against so far. The Fine Buchholz number (also Buchholz-Buchholz-number) of a team is the sum of the current Buchholz numbers of all opponents it has played against so far.

After five rounds, the top eight teams proceed to the quarter-finals. The winners of the quarter-finals proceed to the semi-finals. The losers of the semi-finals play the game for the 3rd place, and the winners of the semi-finals play the final game.

Initial Ranking

The initial ranking (rating number in parentheses) to seed the first round and influence matches of later rounds is as follows:

  1. B-Human (2307)
  2. HTWK Robots (2027)
  3. rUNSWift (1711)
  4. Nao Devils (1662)
  5. UT Austin Villa (1607)
  6. Bembelbots (1543)
  7. SPQR Team (1485)
  8. NomadZ (1391)
  9. UPennalizers (1360)
  10. SABANA Herons (1340)
  11. HULKs (1306)
  12. Naova (1252)
  13. Dutch Nao Team (1250)

The data source as well as the script to calculate this is available at

Technical Challenges

Teams will be ranked by the sum of points earned from their best three challenges (i.e. for teams that participate in all four challenges, the points from their worst challenge are discarded). Not participating in a challenge earns 0 points. In the 7 vs. 7 challenge, the 1st place earns 25 points, the 2nd place earns 20 points, the 3rd place earns 15 points and the 4th place earns 10 points. In all other challenges (Visual Referee, Dynamic Ball Handling, Open Research), the range from worst to best score in that challenge is mapped linearly to points in the range [5,25] (similar to 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2019).

7 vs. 7


Participating Teams:

  • Bembelbots
  • B-Human
  • Nao Devils
  • SPQR Team

Visual Referee Challenge


Participating Teams:

  • Bembelbots
  • B-Human
  • NomadZ
  • RedBackBots (Poster)
  • rUNSWift

Dynamic Ball Handling Challenge


Participating Teams:

  • B-Human
  • HTWK Robots
  • Nao Devils
  • RoboEireann

Open Research Challenge